Win a set of Irish Book Awards winners

Now in its 14th year, the An Post Irish Book Awards celebrates the very best Irish writing talent.

Voted for by Irish readers, writers, publishers, booksellers and librarians, we're offering three sets of all 14 incredible winning books to lucky readers.

An incredible mix of exceptional writing from new and established authors, the winners are:

  • RTÉ Radio 1 Listeners’ Choice Award: Overcoming by Vicky Phelan with Naomi Linehan
  • Bord Gáis Energy Sports Book of the Year: Recovering by Richie Sadlier with Dion Fanning
  • Avoca Cookbook of the Year: Cornucopia: The Green Cookbook by Tony Keogh, Aoife Carrigy, the Chefs of Cornucopia, Deirdre and Dairine McCafferty
  • Irish Independent Crime Fiction Book of the Year: Cruel Acts by Jane Casey
  • Bookselling Ireland Non-Fiction Book of the Year: Constellations by Sinéad Gleeson
  • Best Irish-Published Book of the Year: Children of the Troubles by Joe Duffy and Freya McClements
  • Love Leabhar Gaeilge Irish Language Book of the Year: Tairngreacht by Proinsias Mac a’Bhaird
  • Dept51@Eason Teen & Young Adult Book of the Year: Other Words for Smoke by Sarah Maria Griffin
  • Specsavers Children’s Book of the Year – Senior: Shooting for the Stars - My Journey to Become Ireland’s First Astronaut by Norah Patten, illustrated by Jennifer Farley
  • Specsavers Children’s Book of the Year – Junior: 123 Ireland! by Aoife Dooley
  • Sunday Independent Newcomer of the Year: When All is Said by Anne Griffin
  • National Book Tokens Popular Fiction Book of the Year: Once, Twice, Three Times an Aisling by Emer McLysaght and Sarah Breen
  • Ireland AM Popular Non-Fiction Book of the Year: Barefoot Pilgrimage by Andrea Corr
  • Eason Novel of the Year: Shadowplay by Joseph O’Connor

Acclaimed Irish author and journalist Colm Tóibín received the Bob Hughes Lifetime Achievement Award in recognition of the central position he has occupied in the cultural life of Ireland for over three decades. Parrot by Nicole Flattery also won the Short Story of the Year Award and Salt Rain by Audrey Molloy won the Listowel Writers’ Week Irish Poem of the Year.

Vote now for the Irish Book of the Year and the chance to win a €100 National Book Token!

Please note that this is a special competition for Republic of Ireland residents only. Based in the United Kingdom? Check out our other fantastic competitions and giveaways.

5 Caboodle Points

Win all 14 books

This competition ended on 18/12/2019

Terms and Conditions

3 x winners will receive the 14 winning books in the An Post Irish Book Awards 2019

  • No purchase necessary.
  • Closing date: 11:59pm, Wednesday 18th December 2019
  • Only one entry per person will be accepted. Entrants may not win more than one prize.
  • The prizes are non-transferable and there are no cash alternatives, and subject to availability. The Promoter reserves the right to amend the specification of the prize or offer an alternative prize. In exceptional circumstances, the Promoter reserves the right to foreclose the competition without notice.
  • The competition is open to Republic of Ireland residents except employees of the Booksellers Association and Book Tokens Ltd., their families, employees of participating bookshops, and anyone else connected with this promotion.
  • Entrants must be aged 16 or over.
  • Entrants will automatically collect 5 Caboodle Points. Find out more about How Caboodle Works.
  • Entrants agree to the Promoter using their details in post-competition publicity. Your details will not be used for any other purpose, or passed onto any third parties, unless specified. Winners’ details may be shared securely with a third-party in order to fulfil the dispatch of competition prizes.
  • We will contact winners by email. In the event of a winner not responding after 14 days, we reserve the right to allocate the prize to another winner, or foreclose the prize. Unsuccessful entrants will not be contacted.
  • The Promoter accepts no responsibility for entries that are incomplete, illegible, incorrect, corrupted or fail to reach the Promoter by the closing date for any reason. Automatically generated entries or entries via third parties are invalid and shall not be considered.
  • The Promoter’s decision is final and no correspondence will be entered into.
  • The Promoter will only use your email address and other personal information as outlined in our privacy policy.
  • Promoter: Book Tokens Ltd, 6 Bell Yard, London, WC2A 2JR.

Our latest competitions

Our latest competitions

Don't miss out on this month's giveaways! Win signed books and once-in-a-lifetime prizes.

Our latest competitions

We use cookies to make our website work, analyse traffic to improve its performance, and tailor our advertisements to you. You can change your preferences at any time by clicking “Cookie Preferences” in our footer. View our Privacy and Cookies policy for full details. To accept our cookies, click the button, or for further details and to specify your cookie preferences, click ‘more information’.