Caboodle Firsts: Be one of the first to read Rosie Andrews' The Leviathan

The Leviathan

We're giving 100 Caboodlers the chance to read Rosie Andrews' The Leviathan – a spellbinding tale of superstition, myth and murder – before it's out in February 2022. 

SHE IS AWAKE...

Norfolk, 1643. With civil war tearing England apart, reluctant soldier Thomas Treadwater is summoned home by his sister, who accuses a new servant of improper conduct with their widowed father. By the time Thomas returns home, his father is insensible, felled by a stroke, and their new servant is in prison, facing charges of witchcraft.

Thomas prides himself on being a rational, modern man, but as he unravels the mystery of what has happened, he uncovers not a tale of superstition but something dark and ancient, linked to a shipwreck years before.

Something has awoken, and now it will not rest.

Richly researched, incredibly atmospheric, and deliciously unsettling, The Leviathan is set in England during a time of political and religious turbulence. It is a tale of family and loyalty, superstition and sacrifice, but most of all it is a spellbinding mystery and a story of impossible things, perfect for fans of The Binding, The Essex Serpent and Once Upon a River.

"Darkly compelling and dripping with atmosphere... bewitching" - Stacey Halls, author of The Familiars

Read the first two chapters

 

5 Caboodle Points

 


Get your copy

This competition ended on 30/12/2021

Terms and Conditions

100 x people will receive a copy of The Levithan by Rosie Andrews

  • By entering this competition, you also agree to the Caboodle Terms and Conditions and Caboodle Points Terms and Conditions.
  • Closing date: 11:59pm, Thursday 30th December 2021.
  • No purchase necessary.
  • Only one entry per person will be accepted. Entrants may not win more than one prize.
  • The competition is open to UK and Republic of Ireland residents except employees of the Booksellers Association and Book Tokens Ltd., their families, employees of participating bookshops, and anyone else connected with this promotion.
  • Entrants must be aged 16 or over.
  • The Promoter accepts no responsibility for entries that are incomplete, illegible, incorrect, corrupted or fail to reach the Promoter by the closing date for any reason. Automatically generated entries or entries via third parties are invalid and shall not be considered.
  • Entrants agree to the Promoter using their details in post-competition publicity. Your details will not be used for any other purpose, or passed onto any third parties, unless specified. Winners’ details will be shared securely with a third party (such as the publisher) in order to fulfil the dispatch of prizes.
  • Entrants will automatically collect 5 Caboodle Points. Find out more about How Caboodle Works.
  • The prizes are non-transferable and there are no cash alternatives, and are subject to availability. The Promoter reserves the right to amend the specification of the prize or offer an alternative prize. In exceptional circumstances, the Promoter reserves the right to foreclose the competition without notice.
  • Prizes are sent to winners prior to publication and so the cover may differ from the image shown, and may be an uncorrected proof copy.
  • The Promoter accepts no responsibility for winners not receiving the prize before stated publication date due to prize unavailability from the publisher, technical issue resulting in a delay from the publisher, or for any other reason.
  • The Promoter will choose winners at random from all qualifying entries.
  • Winners will receive the prize to the address they provided upon entering.
  • The Promoter will contact winners by email shortly after the closing date to inform them that their prize is on its way. Unsuccessful entrants will not be contacted.
  • The Promoter reserves the right to allocate the prize to another winner, or foreclose the prize.
  • The Promoter accepts no responsibility for winners not receiving the Promoter’s communications due to their spam filter, accidental deletion, incorrect postal address or email provided, or for any other reason. In the event of this, the Promoter is unable to provide compensation.
  • The Promoter accepts no responsibility for winners not receiving their prize once it has been dispatched. On a case-by-case basis, the Promoter will do their best to compensate the winner but regretfully this may not always be possible.
  • The Promoter’s decision is final and no correspondence will be entered into.
  • The Promoter will only use your email address and other personal information as outlined in our privacy policy.
  • Promoter: Book Tokens Ltd, 6 Bell Yard, London, WC2A 2JR.
  • Due to the ongoing pandemic (COVID-19), there may be a delay in prizes being dispatched or delay in contacting winners due to the availability of such prizes. The Promoter accepts no liability for the delay of prizes being received and is unable to compensated for delays or any other unavoidable issues.

Caboodle Firsts

Caboodle Firsts

Be one of 100 Caboodlers to read the next big thing before anyone else.

Caboodle Firsts
A gift beyond words

A gift beyond words

National Book Tokens are the ideal gift for booklovers and can be spent in bookshops in the UK and Ireland, and online.

A gift beyond words
X

We use cookies to make our website work, analyse traffic to improve its performance, and tailor our advertisements to you. You can change your preferences at any time by clicking “Cookie Preferences” in our footer. View our Privacy and Cookies policy for full details. To accept our cookies, click the button, or for further details and to specify your cookie preferences, click ‘more information’.