Caboodle Benefit: Get a copy of Maror by Lavie Tidhar before it's out in August

Maror

Have you collected 350+ Caboodle Points?

We're giving 100 Caboodlers the chance to get a copy of Lavie Tidhar's Maror before it hits bookshops in August.

A multi-generational saga with cultural and political depth, drawing on the rich, often troubling recent history of Israel, for fans of A History of Seven Killings or The White Tiger.

How do you build a nation?

It takes statesmen and soldiers, farmers and factory workers, of course. But it also takes thieves, prostitutes and policemen.

Nation-building demands sacrifice. And one man knows exactly where those bodies are buried: Cohen, a man who loves his country. A reasonable man for unreasonable times.

A car bomb in the back streets of Tel Aviv. A diamond robbery in Haifa. Civil war in Lebanon. Rebel fighters in the Colombian jungle. A double murder in Los Angeles.

How do they all connect? Only Cohen knows.

Maror is the story of a war for a country's soul – a dazzling spread of narrative gunshots across four decades and three continents.

It is a true story. All of these things happened.

'Some write in ink, others in song, Tidhar writes in fire... Maror is a kaleidoscopic masterpiece, immense in its sympathies, alarming in its irreverences and altogether exhilarating.' - Junot Díaz

'One of the boldest, most visionary writers I've ever read creates both a vivid political exploration and a riveting crime epic. It's like the Jewish Godfather!' - Silvia Moreno-Garcia, author of Mexican Gothic

Read the first three chapters

 

5 Caboodle Points

 

 

 

 

 

This exclusive Caboodle Firsts is only open to Caboodlers with 350 Caboodle Points or more. View your Caboodle Points at the top of our newsletters or by logging into the website, or go to My Caboodle Points. Read more about How Caboodle Works

 


Get your copy

Enter now and collect 5 Caboodle Points. This competition will close after 14/07/2022.

Terms and Conditions

100 x winners with 350+ Caboodle Points at the time of entry will be sent a copy of Maror by Lavie Tidhar

  • By entering this competition, you also agree to the Caboodle Terms and Conditions and Caboodle Points Terms and Conditions.
  • No purchase necessary.
  • Closing date: 11:59pm, Thursday 14th July 2022. 
  • Only one entry per person will be accepted. Entrants may not win more than one prize.
  • The prizes are non-transferable and there are no cash alternatives, and subject to availability. The Promoter reserves the right to amend the specification of the prize or offer an alternative prize. In exceptional circumstances, the Promoter reserves the right to foreclose the competition without notice.
  • As the prizes are sent to winners prior to publication, the cover may differ from the image shown, and may be uncorrected proof copies. 
  • The competition is open to UK and Republic of Ireland residents except employees of the Booksellers Association and Book Tokens Ltd., their families, employees of participating bookshops, and anyone else connected with this promotion.
  • Entrants must be aged 16 or over.
  • Entrants must a) enter using the email address associated with their Caboodle account (this is the email address used to sign up directly to Caboodle, or the email address opted in to receive emails from National Book Tokens), and b) have 350 or more Caboodle Points allocated to that account at the time of entering. Entries received by users with fewer than 350 Caboodle Points at the time of entering will not be considered.
  • Entrants will automatically collect 5 Caboodle Points. Find out more about How Caboodle Works.
  • Entrants agree to the Promoter using their details in post-competition publicity. Your details will not be used for any other purpose, or passed onto any third parties, unless specified. Winners’ details will be shared securely with a third-party in order to fulfil the dispatch of prizes.
  • We will contact winners by email. In the event of a winner not responding after 14 days, we reserve the right to allocate the prize to another winner, or foreclose the prize. Unsuccessful entrants will not be contacted.
  • Winners will receive the prize to the address they provided upon entering.
  • The Promoter accepts no responsibility for entries that are incomplete, illegible, incorrect, corrupted or fail to reach the Promoter by the closing date for any reason. Automatically generated entries or entries via third parties are invalid and shall not be considered.
  • The Promoter accepts no responsibility for prizes not being received due to the entrant providing an incomplete, invalid, intelligible, incorrect postal address.
  • The Promoter’s decision is final and no correspondence will be entered into.
  • The Promoter will only use your email address and other personal information as outlined in our privacy policy.
  • Promoter: Book Tokens Ltd, 6 Bell Yard, London, WC2A 2JR.
  • Due to the ongoing pandemic (COVID-19), there may be a delay in prizes being dispatched or delay in contacting winners due to the availability of such prizes. The Promoter accepts no liability for the delay of prizes being received and is unable to compensate for delays or any other unavoidable issues.

How does Caboodle work?

How does Caboodle work?

Discover more about the rewards programme from National Book Tokens and how to collect Caboodle Points.

How Caboodle Works
Free Bloomsbury Books

Free Bloomsbury Books

Collect 650 Caboodle Points and a choose free Bloomsbury book from our fabulous range.

Free Books
National book token cookie themed gift card

"It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single visitor in possession of a good website, must be in want of a cookie."
Pride and Prejudice* by Jane Austen
*paraphrased


We use cookies to make our website work, understand how visitors use our website, and display relevant marketing to you.