Get your exclusive copy with Caboodle Firsts

Caboodle Firsts give you the chance to read the next big thing, before anyone else! Every month we give away 100 early copies of a book we think will be on everyone's lips.

Download a sample chapter and start reading straight away and collect 5 Caboodle Points when you enter. Don't forget to sign up to receive the latest Caboodle Firsts giveaways straight to your inbox (and more!).

 

Current Titles

 

Swarm Rising

Swarm Rising by Tim Peake & Steve Cole

From astronaut Tim Peake and bestselling author Steve Cole: exciting action-adventure rooted in cutting-edge space-age science and technology.

When Danny is kidnapped by Adi – who can run through brick walls and make cars drive on water – he realises that all humans are in danger. Adi is part of a super-advanced hive mind, the Swarm, which intends to protect the Earth from the environmental catastrophe caused by the human race.

Adi – Alien Digital Intelligence in the form of a girl – can bend the laws of physics and control digital data, but as a digital being she wants to know what it's like to be human. Which is where Danny comes in.

But what exactly is the 'help' the secretive Swarm is offering? Can Danny and his friend Jamila help Adi stop the Swarm Agents and give humanity a second chance?

Swarm Rising can be enjoyed by readers aged 8+ and is perfect for fans of Artemis Fowl and Doctor Who.

Enter now

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Book of Form and Emptiness

The Book of Form and Emptiness by Ruth Ozeki

One year after the death of his beloved musician father, thirteen-year-old Benny Oh begins to hear voices. The voices belong to the things in his house – a sneaker, a broken Christmas ornament, a piece of wilted lettuce. Although Benny doesn’t understand what these things are saying, he can sense their emotional tone; some are pleasant, a gentle hum or coo, but others are snide, angry and full of pain. When his mother develops a hoarding problem, the voices grow more clamorous.

At first Benny tries to ignore them, but soon the voices follow him outside the house, onto the street and at school, driving him at last to seek refuge in the silence of a large public library, where objects are well-behaved and know to speak in whispers. There, he falls in love with a mesmerising street artist with a smug pet ferret, who uses the library as her performance space. He meets a homeless philosopher-poet, who encourages him to ask important questions and find his own voice amongst the many.

And he meets his very own Book – a talking thing – who narrates Benny’s life and teaches him to listen to the things that truly matter.

Enter now

 

Previous Caboodle Firsts

Lemon
Reprieve
The View Was Exhausting
Ace of Spades
The Lucky Escape
Blackout
The Summer Job
The Accidental Diary of B.U.G.
The Dictionary of Lost Words
The Startup Wife
Behind Closed Doors
The Last House and Needless Street
The Ash House
Everyday Magic
Girl A
The Appeal
Lost Property
Here is the Beehive
The Sin Eater
The Paris Library
The Gilded Cage
The Unadoptables
The Authenticity Project
This Lovely City
Starve Acre
Skeleton Keys
Never Have I Ever
Sweet Sorrow

 

... and many more!

 

Our latest competitions

Our latest competitions

Don't miss out on this month's giveaways! Win signed books and once-in-a-lifetime prizes.

Our latest competitions
Caboodlers' Corner

Caboodlers' Corner

Browse quizzes, reading lists, and recommendations from our guest Book Doctors.

Caboodlers' Corner
X

We use cookies to make our website work, analyse traffic to improve its performance, and tailor our advertisements to you. You can change your preferences at any time by clicking “Cookie Preferences” in our footer. View our Privacy and Cookies policy for full details. To accept our cookies, click the button, or for further details and to specify your cookie preferences, click ‘more information’.