22 more books to look out for in 2022: July to December

The National Book Tokens team are back to share 22 fantastic new books that will be arriving in bookshops this year, from delicious summer reads to mystery novels to curl up with. Discover your local bookshop using our handy tool.

Have we left out your most anticipated book? Tell us in the comments at the bottom of the page.

22 books to look out for in 2022: January to June

 

Tomorrow and Tomorrow and Tomorrow by Gabrielle Zevin

July
Tomorrow and Tomorrow and Tomorrow by Gabrielle Zevin

Two kids meet in a hospital gaming room in 1987. When the pair spot each other eight years later, they are catapulted back to that moment. The spark is immediate, and together they get to work on what they love – making games to delight, challenge and immerse players.

This is the story of the perfect worlds Sadie and Sam build, the imperfect world they live in, and of everything that comes after success.

The House of Fortune by Jessie Burton

The House of Fortune by Jessie Burton

Jessie Burton is back with the sequel to the bestselling The Miniaturist. Set in the golden city of Amsterdam in 1705, it is a story of fate and ambition, secrets and dreams, and one young woman's determination to rule her own destiny.

Boy Friends by Michael Pedersen

Boy Friends by Michael Pedersen

In 2018, poet and author Michael Pedersen lost a cherished friend, Scott Hutchison, soon after their collective voyage into the landscape of the Scottish Highlands. Just weeks later, Michael began to write to him. This is an intimate and original memoir of love, grief and male friendship.

Carrie Soto is Back by Taylor Jenkins Reid

August
Carrie Soto is Back by Taylor Jenkins Reid

Taylor Jenkins Reid tells a story about the cost of greatness and a legendary athlete attempting a comeback. By the time Carrie Soto retires, she is the best tennis player the world has ever seen. At thirty-seven years old, Carrie makes the decision to come out of retirement and be coached by her father for one last year in an attempt to reclaim her record.

The Marriage Portrait by Maggie O'Farrell

The Marriage Portrait by Maggie O'Farrell

The beloved author of Hamnet, Maggie O'Farrell, brings the world of Renaissance Italy to jewel-bright life, and offers an unforgettable portrait of a resilient young woman’s battle for her very survival.

Haven by Emma Donoghue

Haven by Emma Donoghue

In seventh-century Ireland, a priest has a dream telling him to leave the sinful world behind. Taking two monks, he travels down the river Shannon in search of an isolated spot on which to found a monastery. Haunting, moving and vividly told, Haven displays Emma Donoghue's trademark world-building and psychological intensity, but this tale is like nothing she has ever written before...

Maror by Lavie Tidhar

Maror by Lavie Tidhar

Maror is a multi-generational saga with cultural and political depth, drawing on the rich, often troubling recent history of Israel, for fans of A History of Seven Killings or The White Tiger. We gave Caboodlers with 350+ Caboodle Points the chance to get an early copy!

The Book Eaters by Sunyi Dean

The Book Eaters by Sunyi Dean

In Sunyi Dean's fantasy-horror novel, hidden across England and Scotland live six old Book Eater families. The Book Eaters is a story of escape, a savage mother's devotion and a queer love.

Without Warning & Only Sometimes: Scenes from an Unpredictable Childhood by Kit de Waal

Without Warning & Only Sometimes: Scenes from an Unpredictable Childhood by Kit de Waal

Kit de Waal's haphazard mother rarely cooked, forbade Christmas and birthdays, worked as a cleaner, nurse and childminder sometimes all at once and believed the world would end in 1975. Meanwhile, her father stuffed barrels full of goodies for his relatives in the Caribbean, cooked elaborate meals on a whim and splurged money they didn't have on cars, suits and shoes fit for a prince.

This is a story of an extraordinary childhood and how a girl who grew up in house where the Bible was the only book on offer went on to discover a love of reading that inspires her to this day.

The Bullet That Missed by Richard Osman

September
The Bullet That Missed
by Richard Osman

Richard Osman returns with the third book in the witty and brilliant Thursday Murder Club series. This time can the retired friends catch the culprit and save Elizabeth before the murderer strikes again?

Best of Friends by Kamila Shamsie

Best of Friends by Kamila Shamsie

A dazzling novel of friendship, identity and the unknowability of other people from the author of Home Fire.

Fourteen-year-old Maryam and Zahra have always been the best of friends, despite their different backgrounds. 1988 brings the girls' childhoods abruptly to an end. Three decades later, in London, Zahra and Maryam are still best friends. But when unwelcome ghosts from their past re-enter their world, both women find themselves driven to act in ways that will stretch and twist their bond beyond all recognition.

Marple: Twelve New Stories by Various

Marple: Twelve New Stories by Various

A collection of short stories featuring the Queen of Crime's legendary detective Jane Marple, penned by twelve remarkable bestselling and acclaimed authors including Naomi Alderman, Lucy Foley, Jean Kwok, and Val McDermid. Each author reimagines Agatha Christie's heroine through their own unique perspective while staying true to the hallmarks of a traditional mystery.

Lucy by the Sea by Elizabeth Strout

Lucy by the Sea by Elizabeth Strout

From bestselling author Elizabeth Strout, comes Lucy by the Sea, a novel featuring Lucy Barton, the indomitable heroine of My Name is Lucy Barton and Oh William!

Lucy is uprooted from her life in New York City and reluctantly goes into lockdown with her ex-husband William in a house on the coast of Maine. Strout's new novel is a miraculous work of fiction. A brilliantly sharp evocation of the period we have just lived through, it is a novel that both resonates deeply and consoles us too.

Less is Lost by Andrew Sean Greer

Less is Lost by Andrew Sean Greer

In the follow-up to the 'bedazzling, bewitching, and be-wonderful' bestselling Less, the awkward and lovable Arthur Less returns in an unforgettable road trip across America.

Shrines of Gaiety by Kate Atkinson

Shrines of Gaiety by Kate Atkinson

From the award-winning author of Life After Life comes a novel that captures the uncertainty and mutability of life; of a world in which nothing is quite as it seems.

1926, and in a country still recovering from the Great War, London has become the focus for a delirious new nightlife. In the clubs of Soho, peers of the realm rub shoulders with starlets, foreign dignitaries with gangsters, and girls sell dances for a shilling a time. The notorious queen of this glittering world is Nellie Coker. But success breeds enemies, and Nellie's empire faces threats from without and within.

Girl Friends by Holly Bourne

Girl Friends by Holly Bourne

The bestselling author of How Do You Like Me Now? and Pretending is back with Girl Friends. From the day they first meet as teenagers Fern and Jessica are best friends. That is until Jessica crosses a line that Fern can't forgive. But now, more than ten years later, Jessica has unexpectedly reappeared in Fern's life. Set between the present day and the past, Girl Friends is a joyful celebration of female friendship and a razor-sharp look at the damage we can all cause to those we claim to love the most.

Babel: An Arcane History by R.F. Kuang

Babel: An Arcane History by R.F. Kuang

Oxford, 1836. The city of dreaming spires. It is the centre of all knowledge and progress in the world. And at its centre is Babel, the Royal Institute of Translation. Orphaned in Canton and brought to England by a mysterious guardian, Babel seemed like paradise to Robin Swift. Until it became a prison... but can a student stand against an empire?

Our Share of Night by Mariana Enríquez

October
Our Share of Night
by Mariana Enríquez

Spanning the brutal decades of Argentina's military dictatorship and its aftermath, Our Share of Night is a haunting, thrilling novel of broken families, cursed inheritances, and the sacrifices a father will make to help his son escape his destiny.

Our Missing Hearts by Celeste Ng

Our Missing Hearts by Celeste Ng

From the author of Little Fires Everywhere comes an old story made new, of the ways supposedly civilized communities can turn a blind eye to the most searing injustice. It's a story about the power – and limitations – of art to create change in the world, what being a good parent really means, and how any of us can retain our humanity in a society where fear dominates.

The Passenger by Cormac McCarthy

The Passenger by Cormac McCarthy

It is three in the morning when Bobby Western zips the jacket of his wetsuit and plunges from the boat deck into darkness. His divelight illuminates the sunken jet, nine bodies still buckled in their seats, hair floating, eyes devoid of speculation. Missing from the crash site are the pilot's flightbag, the plane's black box, and the tenth passenger. But how?


The first of two interlinked novels, The Passenger is a novel of morality and science, the legacy of sin, and the madness that is human consciousness.

It Starts With Us by Colleen Hoover

It Starts With Us by Colleen Hoover

For fans of It Ends With Us comes the eagerly-awaited prequel. Colleen Hoover tells fan favourite Atlas' side of the story and shares what comes next.

Loki by Melvin Burguess

November
Loki
by Melvin Burgess

Melvin Burgess revolutionised children's literature with the infamous cult novels Junk and Doing It. In his first adult novel, Loki, he breathes new life into Norse myths.

 

Caboodlers' Corner

Caboodlers' Corner

Browse quizzes, reading lists, and recommendations from our guest Book Doctors.

Caboodlers' Corner
Summer reading with National Book Tokens

Summer reading with National Book Tokens

Discover book recommendations, competitions, and lots more.

Summer reading with National Book Tokens
National book token cookie themed gift card

"It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single visitor in possession of a good website, must be in want of a cookie."
Pride and Prejudice* by Jane Austen
*paraphrased


We use cookies to make our website work, understand how visitors use our website, and display relevant marketing to you.