18 of the best books to read this autumn

We take you on a journey through autumn's must-reads, from highly-anticipated books from Sebastian Faulks and Jodi Picoult to debut stories you won’t want to miss. We also asked readers like you which books were on their lists, and featured them below, too!

Early Riser

August

Early Riser by Jasper Fforde

Team National Book Tokens are excited that the king of hilariously inventive fantasy has returned! In Early Riser, 99.9% of the human population go into hibernation every winter (that sounds about right to us...). Psst, we’re also giving away all 14 of his books!

Sea Prayer

Sea Prayer by Khaled Hosseini

From the author of The Kite Runner, this promises to be a heart-wrenching story. Khaled Hosseini is also donating his author proceeds from the book to the UN Refugee Agency (UNHCR) and the Khaled Hosseini Foundation to help fund life-saving relief efforts to help refugees around the globe.

Vox

Vox by Christina Dalcher

Vox is set in a world world where women across America are not allowed to speak more than 100 words a day, and was chosen by Alison MacConnell, over on our Facebook: "Ever since reading The Handmaid's Tale, I've been chasing that same punch of impact. Vox sounds like it could be the 21st century answer to Atwood's classic, and relevant for the times in which we live".

Washington Black

Washington Black by Esi Edugyan

We can't wait to read this epic story of a young slave who escapes his plantation in a hot air balloon, going on to travel the world in search of a place to call home. And to celebrate Esi Edugyan's incredible Man Booker Prize-longlisted novel, we're giving you the chance to win a signed copy and a hot air balloon ride for two!

Normal People

September

Normal People by Sally Rooney

As fans of Conversations with Friends, we'll be picking up Sally Rooney's latest. Connell and Marianne grew up in the same small town, and both earn places at Trinity College in Dublin. Normal People is also another title longlisted for this year's Man Booker Prize!

Paris Echo

Paris Echo by Sebastian Faulks

In Paris Echo, we meet American postdoctoral researcher Hannah and runaway Moroccan teenager Tariq. In this highly-anticipated book, Sebastian Faulks deals with questions of empire, grievance and identity.

The Labyrinth of the Spirits

The Labyrinth of the Spirits (The Cemetary of Forgotten Books #4) by Carlos Ruiz Zafón

The Shadow of the Wind captured the hearts of 18 million readers (including Team National Book Tokens) the world over. This year, we're invited to return to the heart of Barcelona. The Labyrinth of the Spirits is a book of plots within plots, where even the shadows have a story to tell… Don't miss out on entering to win the complete The Cemetery of Forgotten Books series!

Pompeii

The Restless Girls by Jessie Burton & Angela Barrett

Don't miss out on delving into this dazzling, feminist reinterpretation of a classic fairytale, from the author of The Miniaturist.

The Restless Girls was chosen by Karen (@amusedbyshowbiz): "I'm very excited about this as I'm giving it to my little granddaughter, Isabelle, so that we can read it together. I just love Jessie's writing and Angela's illustrations look so beautiful".

Life's a Beach

Life's a Beach (Bookshop Girl #2) by Chloe Coles

After reading Bookshop Girl, written by a real-life bookseller, Chloe's back with the second book in this sparkly teen series. This time, Holly and Paige head off literary festival in Skegton-on-Sea. It's perfect for fans of Holly Bourne and Louise Rennison... Keep an eye out for our new National Book Token gift card design this autumn, too!

Lethal White

Lethal White (Cormoran Strike #4) by Robert Galbraith

When a troubled young man comes to private eye Cormoran Strike's office to ask for his help investigating a crime he witnessed as a child, Strike sets off on a twisting trail, taking him from the backstreets of London to a sinister manor house in the countryside. We know that many Caboodlers are looking forward to this next book in the series!

The Corset

The Corset by Laura Purcell

Last year we were entranced by The Silent Companions and now Laura Purcell has a new Victorian chiller for us: Is prisoner Ruth Butterham mad or a murderer? Victim or villain?

The Corset was chosen by Lauren Thompson, over on our Facebook: "After reading The Silent Companions, I was really excited to discover that Laura Purcell was writing another gothic thriller, this time set in the Victorian Era. Laura's writing style is gripping and it's easy to become absorbed in the stories she weaves."

My Mum Tracy Beaker

October

My Mum Tracy Beaker by Jacqueline Wilson

This sounds perfect for adults who grew up reading her books and children alike! Tracy Beaker is a mum now - and it's her daughter Jess who's telling the story.

 

A Spark of Light

A Spark of Light by Jodi Picoult

In Jodi Picoult's upcoming novel, a lone protester with gun takes staff, patients and visitors of the centre for women's reproductive health hostage.

A Spark of Light was chosen by Katie (@katiemarieuk): "Jodi Picoult is an author who isn't afraid to tackle difficult and hard-hitting subjects, and she always writes about them with sensitivity and grace. Each novel she writes is uniquely different whilst retaining a common style (and the occasional recurring character) and I love nothing more than curl up on the sofa with a large mug of tea and one of Jodi's books".

We’re also giving you the chance to be one of the first 100 to read it with Caboodle Firsts!

 

Born Lippy

Born Lippy: How To Do Female by Jo Brand

This guide to life by one of our favourite comedians is a must-read. A century after women got the vote (albeit married women over the age of 28), it's time to take stock of exactly what it means to be female today.

Bridge of Clay

Bridge of Clay by Markus Zusak

If you thought The Book Thief was powerful and poignant, like us, this will be one of your most anticipated reads. Bridge of Clay centres around a boy who's intent on destroying everything he has in order to become everything he needs to be, and is written in Markus Zusak's distinctive style. 

Sincerity

November

Sincerity by Carol Ann Duffy

This is Carol Ann Duffy’s final collection as Poet Laureate: a frank, disarming and deeply moving exploration of loss and remembrance in their many forms.

Freshwater

Freshwater by Akwaeke Emezi

We’ve seen a lot of buzz about this promising debut: Ada was born with one foot on the other side. Having prayed her into existence, her parents Saul and Saachi struggle to deal with the volatile and contradictory spirits peopling their troubled girl.

Roar

Roar by Cecelia Ahern

Roar, written by the beloved author of P.S. I Love You, is made up of 30 touching and often hilarious stories, from The Woman Who Slowly Disappeared to The Woman Who Returned and Exchanged her Husband.

Win a £50 National Book Token!

Are you excited to read the books on our list? Did we miss any out? Tell us below and we’ll send one booklover a £50/€50 National Book Token.

Congratulations to Donna H.!

Terms and Conditions

1 x winner will receive a £50/€50 National Book Token.

  • Our favourite comment will be chosen by the National Book Tokens/Caboodle marketing team to win a £50/€50 National Book Token.
  • No purchase necessary.
  • Only one entry per person will be accepted.
  • The prizes are non-transferable and there are no cash alternatives. The Promoter reserves the right to amend the specification of the prize or offer an alternative prize.
  • Closing date 11:59pm, Thursday 6th September 2018.
  • The competition is open to UK and Republic of Ireland residents except employees of the Booksellers Association and Book Tokens Ltd., and employees of participating bookshops.
  • Entrants must be aged 16 or over.
  • Entrants agree to Book Tokens Ltd. using their details in post-competition publicity. Your details will not be used for any other purpose, or passed onto any third parties, unless specified. Winners’ details may be shared securely with a third-party in order to fulfil the dispatch of competition prizes.
  • We will contact the winner by replying to their comment. In the event of a winner not responding after 14 days, we reserve the right to allocate the prize to another winner.
  • The promoters’ decision is final and no correspondence will be entered into. Unsuccessful entrants will not be contacted.
  • Book Tokens Ltd. will only use your email address and other personal information in compliance with the provisions of the Data Protection Act 1998 and in accordance with our privacy policy.
  • Promoter: Book Tokens Ltd, 6 Bell Yard, London, WC2A 2JR.

Our latest competitions

Our latest competitions

Don't miss out on this month's giveaways! Win signed books and once-in-a-lifetime prizes.

Our latest competitions
Caboodlers' Corner

Caboodlers' Corner

Browse quizzes, reading lists, and recommendations from our guest Book Doctors.

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet?
X

We use cookies to make our website work, improve website performance, help you share our content via social media, and tailor our advertisements to you. You can change your preferences at any time by clicking “Cookie Preferences” in our footer. View our Privacy and Cookies policy for full details. To accept our cookies, click the button, or for further details and to specify your cookie preferences, click ‘more information’.